So Simple: Lemon Sour Cream Pie

Inside NanaBread's Head

Lemon Sour Cream Pie - Inside NanaBread's Head

Looking at my last three posts, I’d say there’s a high probability I’m on a fruit bender. Peach waffles. Papaya Cheesecake Bars. And now this. I think I’m trying to channel Spring. I first tasted this pie in the mid-80’s when our neighbor in Owasso, Oklahoma made it for us. It’s super simple, yet loaded with lemon flavor. A little sweet, a little tart, and a little tangy… just like me.

Lemon Sour Cream Pie:

one 8″ pre-baked pie shell (I use this recipe.)
4 small lemons, zested & juiced (1 Tbsp. zest + 1/2 cup juice)
3 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 cup granulated sugar
3 egg yolks
1 cup milk
1/2 stick unsalted butter, cubed
1 cup sour cream
whipped cream, to garnish

Pre-bake your pie crust (homemade or store-bought) and let it cool completely.

In a heavy-bottom saucepan, whisk together the lemon juice, lemon zest, cornstarch, sugar…

View original post 97 more words

Leave a Reply

